如何修复 Mac 上的“启动磁盘已满”错误?

每个 Mac 用户都会有这么一天:您会突然收到“您的启动磁盘几乎已满”的消息。但是存满的启动磁盘会对您有什么影响呢?

我们从头说起:什么是启动磁盘?启动盘是包含操作系统的硬盘驱动器,因此是最重要的磁盘。所以,当“您的启动磁盘几乎已满”这条消息弹出时,基本上意味着您的主磁盘驱动器上的空间不足,这是非常糟糕的消息。

当 Mac 表示磁盘已满时,这意味着什么?

当 Mac 启动磁盘达到满容量时,由于以下两个原因,这是一条坏消息:

  1. 很快您就会完全没有空间可用了。
  2. 装满(甚至将近装满)的磁盘将缓慢运行。

大多数人没有意识到的是,Mac 实际上会将启动磁盘上的可用空间转换为虚拟内存,用于日常操作。理想情况下,应该有 10% 的磁盘空闲空间,才能让 Mac 操作系统拥有足够的空间来运行。因此,如果空间不足,就会出现严重问题。

如何检查 Mac 上的磁盘空间

要抓住问题的根源并找到解决方案,您必须了解是什么占用了启动磁盘驱动器上的所有空间。

按以下步骤操作,即可大致了解空间的占用情况:

Check startup disk space on your Mac

在这里,您将能够确切地看到剩余多少空间,什么文件占用了空间。如果您的可用磁盘空间不足,则需要删除一些文件或安装新的硬盘驱动器。

幸运的是,您的磁盘大概率是由电影、照片和音频填满的。为什么要说是幸运?因为这些文件很容易删除或移动到其他位置。使用任何外部驱动器或云存储都可以解决这个问题,而 Mac 也能腾出正常运行所需的空间。

但是,还存在另一种情况,那就是其他您不能或不想删除的数据占用了可用空间。这种情况会棘手一点,但不要担心。以下提示一定能给 Mac 腾出一些额外的空间。我们将它们分为两大类:

开始整理您的 Mac 吧。

清除 Mac 启动磁盘的 5 个基本技巧

信不信由您,Mac 的一个功能就是制造垃圾。但不要怪它,它只是在做本职工作。与所有其他操作系统一样,Mac 系统依赖于创建临时文件、缓存和备份来正确运转。但是,在这些数据发挥作用之后,它们仍然潜藏在 Mac 中,白白占用空间。

好消息是,删除这些无用的文件非常简单,可以释放以千兆字节计的空间并修复启动磁盘填满的问题,并且不会影响您的个人数据。

下面是通过删除不需要且从不使用的文件来修复“您的启动磁盘几乎已满”错误消息的方法。

tip 1

删除应用程序缓存(系统垃圾)

缓存文件的有趣之处在于,它们有时候是必要的,有时候又是无用的。首先,缓存有着重要作用,因为它们是为了加速进程而创建的。但是一旦进程结束,就会留下由应用程序和系统进程生成的临时垃圾。除非您删除它们,否则它们将长时间保留在 Mac 上。如果不删除,这些临时文件将成为硬盘驱动器的永久性问题,因为它们将继续堆积,填满您的启动磁盘。

幸运的是,只需移除它们,就可以解决这个问题。不用担心:您的应用程序很快就会刷新缓存并即刻恢复速度。

要删除应用程序缓存文件并清理启动磁盘,请按照下列步骤操作:

请注意,手动删除文件总是会有较小的风险(您可能会选到错误的文件夹),因此请在开始删除之前考虑备份这些文件夹。

或者,您也可以在很短的时间内清理所有缓存,并且保持 100% 的信心 - 使用 CleanMyMac X 即可. 下面是使用此流程同时删除大量系统垃圾的具体方法:

Remove iTunes backups

下载免费版本

tip 2

清空废纸篓

有时我们会忽略最明显的解决方案,因为我们认为,修复必然涉及一些复杂的操作。但是,在这种情况下,简单的做法就能解决问题。

事实上,废纸篓就像是您不再需要的文件的墓地。尽管如此,这些文件仍占用 Mac 驱动器的空间。所以,您可能已经猜到了下一步:进入废纸篓并按下“清倒”即可完全摆脱这些成堆的无用数据。

Empty your Trash

我们还将指出您可能没有想过的问题,满足您对秘密解决方案的需求:每个应用程序都有自己的垃圾文件夹,存储着以千兆计的无用信息。邮件应用程序就是其中一个例子。就像其他普通的废纸篓一样,您需要清空这些文件夹,才能真正删除垃圾并清理磁盘空间。

清空所有应用中所有垃圾文件夹后,您就可以转到下一个技巧了。准备好了?行动吧。

tip 3

删除 iTunes 备份

我们喜欢 iTunes,但 iTunes 喜欢创建备份。此言不虚。请想一想,每次更新 iTunes 时,更新都会附带整个 iTunes 资料库的备份。这意味着,在多次更新之后,将会有大量备份,而您最多只需要一个备份。

因此,让“启动磁盘已满”消息不再出现的第一步是处理这些备份。是的,”处理“的意思就是”删除“。 毕竟它们没有任何作用。

如果您想知道如何查找和删除旧的 iTunes 备份并释放 Mac 启动磁盘上的空间,请按照以下步骤操作:

tip 4

删除浏览器缓存

您的互联网浏览器会在您每次访问新页面时创建缓存,以便在您下次访问时加快速度。但是,对您访问的每个页面执行此操作,会使浏览器文件夹变得非常大,从而产生越来越大的问题。

因此,如果您想知道如何安全地清理 Mac 启动磁盘,一定要先了解如何删除浏览器垃圾。

为了删除不必要的文件,请查看浏览器删除其缓存的方式,因为每个浏览器都有不同的删除过程。但是,您主要需要按照以下步骤操作:

  1. 打开浏览器
  2. 打开历史记录标签,然后点按清除浏览数据
  3. 选择要删除的文件:Cookie、站点数据、缓存的图像和文件
  4. 从顶部菜单中选择要删除的文件的时间范围
  5. 点击清除浏览数据按钮

简单省时的替代方案就是再次打开 CleanMyMac 系统垃圾 标签页并在用户缓存文件下找到浏览器缓存:

Clean up all browser data with CleanMyMac X

tip 5

删除语言包

大多数应用程序都附带语言包(也称为“本地化文件”),方便您更改应用程序的语言。拥有这种选项十分便利,但不要忘了,大多数人只需要使用一种语言。也许最多两种。而其余的语言只是在浪费空间。

要手动删除语言包,请执行以下步骤:

Delete useless localization files

删除语言包的更快方法是使用 CleanMyMac 的系统垃圾 模块。运行扫描后,您可以点按“查看详细信息”并查找语言文件。点按语言文件即可查看将删除的语言包。进行适当的选择之后,点按大大的“清理”按钮即可进一步清理启动盘。

Mac 使用 Mojave 系统时运行缓慢?试试这个

许多 Mac 用户都表示,Mac 在升级到 macOS Mojave 10.14 后速度很慢。这可能是由尚未针对 Mojave 优化的软件引起的。不过,您可以采取一些措施,降低 Mojave 的减速影响:

  1. 清理桌面 - 这会释放一些虚拟内存
  2. 更新所有软件
  3. 在系统偏好设置 > 用户与群组中尽量减少登录项
  4. 禁用动态桌面
  5. 使用 CleanMyMac X 中的 Mac 加速工具

新版 CleanMyMac X 有一套名为“Speed”的工具,可以直接解决 Mac 减速问题。使用这些工具,您可以禁用挂起的应用程序和占用大量内存的程序。

下载免费版本

释放磁盘空间的 5 条额外技巧

您的启动磁盘现在应该有更多的可用空间了,但请不要止步于此。我们还有一些清理启动磁盘的额外技巧。这些技巧并不适用于所有人,但对于那些可以使用的人来说,它们可以腾出更多空间。

tip 6

删除 iOS 备份

您有 iPhone 或 iPad 吗?有没有在 Mac 上用 iTunes 更新过这些设备?如果答案是肯定的,那么很可能有旧备份占用了启动磁盘上的宝贵空间。

要删除旧的 iOS 备份,快速释放空间,请执行以下操作:

tip 7

删除 iOS 更新

如果您在 Mac 上通过 iTunes 更新 iPhone 或 iPad,则表示您会下载 iOS 应用程序的更新。更新发生后,就不再需要更新文件,但它会和其他更新隐藏在系统里,浪费启动磁盘空间。

要删除 iOS 更新,请按以下步骤操作:

tip 8

卸载未使用的应用程序

您的 Mac 上有多少个应用程序?扪心自问一下,您实际使用了多少个?

大多数人都有几个从未启动过的应用程序。您可能会想:是又怎样?但是这些应用程序会占用空间,如果在后台运行,甚至可能浪费其他资源,如 RAM。

请花点时间看看您的应用程序,看看是否有您可以放弃的应用程序,然后删除它们,以获得更多的空间,提高速度。将它们拖到废纸篓会卸载应用程序,但会留下许多与应用程序关联的隐藏文件,如应用程序日志和崩溃报告。

要查看所有未使用的应用程序的列表(并完全删除),请使用 CleanMyMac 的卸载器模块. 对于硬盘来说,它是一个出色的启动磁盘清理程序,可以释放应用程序在 Mac 上占用的所有空间。

Complete uninstall apps with CleanMyMac X

下载免费版本

tip 9

从“照片”应用中删除重复的库

如果您在 Mac 上换用了新的照片应用程序,很可能您会有一个旧的照片库,其中包含大量重复的图片,浪费空间。很难理解为什么 Apple 在升级后会保持这些重复内容。我们只能假设,这是为了说服用户购买更多的 iCloud 空间。无论如何,我们有一个好消息:现在您可以轻松删除重复的照片库并清理空间。下面是具体的做法:

Get rid of Photo Library duplicates

tip 10

限制 Dropbox 同步

如果您是 Dropbox 用户,请注意 Dropbox 默认设置为将所有内容同步到 Mac。请查看您的 Dropbox 文件夹并思考您是否需要将所有文件和文件夹同步到计算机上。

可能不需要。

以下是选择要同步的文件和文件夹以释放启动磁盘空间的方法:

Manage Dropbox syncing

不再出现“启动磁盘已满”错误消息

在想要释放 Mac 启动磁盘上的空间时,您很难决定从哪里开始。通过这 5 个基本技巧和 5 额外技巧,您可以获得所需的一切,永远摆脱“您的启动磁盘几乎已满”的消息。

使用 CleanMyMac 删除缓存等技巧和清空废纸篓应该成为您日常惯例的一部分,以便您的启动磁盘完全专注于平稳运行 Mac。因此,请将此页面添加为书签并定期使用这些技巧,以确保问题不再出现。

博客 常见问题解答
方式

MacPaw 使用 Cookie 个性化您在我们网站上的体验。继续使用本网站即表明您同意我们的 Cookie 政策。点按此处,了解详情。

How to fix the “Startup Disk Full” error on your Mac

There comes a day in the life of every Mac user when the message “Your startup disk is almost full” will hit you hard. But how could a full startup disk affect you?

Let’s start with the beginning: what is a startup disk? Well, it’s the hard drive that contains your operating system, which makes it the most important disk of all. So when the “Your startup disk is almost full” message pops up, it basically means you are running out of space on your primary disk drive and that is very bad news.

What does it mean when your Mac says the disk is full?

When a Mac startup disk is reaching full capacity it is bad news for two reasons:

  1. Soon you’ll run out of space entirely.
  2. A disk that is full (or even near full) is going to perform slowly.

What most people don’t realize, is that their Mac actually converts the available space on their startup disk into virtual memory, which you use for day-to-day operations. Ideally, 10% of the disk should be free to leave your Mac’s OS enough space to operate. Therefore, if you’re running low on space, you’re heading for big problems.

How to check disk space on Mac

To get to the root of the problem and find the solution, you must discover what is taking up all the space on your startup disk drive.

To have an overview on how your space is being used simply follow these steps:

  • Click on the Apple Icon
  • Select About This Mac
  • Click Storage (or More Info > Storage on older Macs)

Check startup disk space on your Mac

From here you’ll be able to see exactly how much space you’ve got left and what’s eating up the used one. If you are running out of available disk space, it's time to delete some files or install a new hard drive.

Luckily, your disk will be full of movies, photos, and audio. Why luckily? Because these files are easy to remove or move to another location. Any external drive or cloud storage will do the trick and your Mac’s going to thank you for leaving it space to breathe.

However, there’s another scenario in which other data is taking up the free space, with files you cannot or do not want to delete. This situation’s a bit trickier, but don’t worry. These tips will surely give your Mac some extra space. We’ve grouped them into two main categories:

  • 5 Essential tips to clear startup disk
  • 5 Bonus tips to free up disk space

So, let’s start fixing your Mac right now.

5 Essential tips to clear the startup disk on a Mac

Believe it or not, one of your Mac’s occupations is to create junk. But don’t blame it, it’s just doing its job. The Mac’s system, like all the other operating systems, depends on creating temporary files, caches and backups to perform correctly. However, after this data has done its part, it remains latent on your Mac, killing space for no purpose.

The good news is that it’s extremely simple to remove these useless files, freeing up gigabytes and fixing your startup disk full problem, without affecting your personal data.

So here is how you can fix the “Your startup disk is almost full” error message by deleting the files you don’t need and never use.

tip 1

Remove iTunes Backups

We love iTunes, but iTunes loves to create backups. It’s true. Just consider the fact that every time you update iTunes, that update comes with a backup of your entire iTunes library. That means that with every update, you’re going to end up with a ton of backups when, at most, you only need one.

So, the first step towards removing the “startup disk full” message is to take care of these backups. Yes, by take care we mean remove them. In the end, they serve you no purpose.

If you’re wondering how to find and delete old iTunes backups and free up space on your Mac startup disk, just follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Finder > Go > Go to Folder
  • Type in ~/Music/iTunes/Previous iTunes Libraries
  • Sort the files by date and delete all but one or two of the most recent backups

Remove iTunes backups

tip 2

Take out the Trash

Sometimes we overlook the most obvious solutions because we think the fix must necessarily involve some complex operation. However, in this case, simple does the trick.

Fact is, your Trash is a graveyard for files you no longer need. Still, these files keep taking up space on your Mac’s drive. So, you’ve probably guessed it: take out the Trash and press “empty” to completely get rid of those piles of useless data.

Empty your Trash

We’re also going to satisfy your need for secret solutions by pointing out something you might have not thought about: every single app has its own trash folder that also stores useless gigabytes. The Mail app is one example, but there are many more. Just like the general Trash, you need to empty these folders in order to actually remove the junk and clear up disk space.

Once you empty all the trash folders in all the apps, you’ll be ready to move to the next tip. Ready? Let’s go.

tip 3

Delete App Cache

The funny thing with cache files is that they are as necessary as they are useless. At first, caches serve a major purpose, as they get created in order to speed up processes. But once that process ends, you’re left with temporary files generated by apps and system processes. Unless you remove them yourself, they will remain on your Mac for long. If you don’t, then these temporary files will become a permanent problem for your hard drive, as they will continue to pile up and make your startup disk full.

Fortunately, it’s an easy problem to solve, simply by removing them. And don’t worry: your apps will soon refresh their caches and be back up to speed in no time.

To remove app cache files and clean up a startup disk, follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Finder > Go > Go to Folder
  • Type in ~/Library/Caches
  • Go into each folder (or just the ones taking up the most space) and delete the files inside
  • Now do the same for /Library/Caches (without the ~)

Delete cache on Mac

Note, that there is always a small risk to manually deleting files (you might pick the wrong folder), so consider backing up these folders before you start deleting.

Alternatively, you can clean up all caches in a fraction of the time and with 100% confidence if you use CleanMyMac 3. This is how easy it is to delete tons of system junk at the same time using this flow:

  • Download (it’s free) and open CleanMyMac
  • Click on System Junk
  • Click Scan
  • When the scan finishes click Clean

Clear system junk with CleanMyMac 3

tip 4

Delete Browser Cache

Your internet browser of choice will create caches every time you visit a new page in order to load it faster at your next visits. However, doing this for every page you visit keeps your browser folder growing enormously, creating a bigger and bigger problem.

So, if you’re wondering how to safely clean a startup disk on Mac, removing browser junk is definitely a priority.

In order to remove unnecessary files, check out your browser’s way of deleting its cache, as every browser has a different process for removal. However, you will mainly need to follow these steps:

  1. Open your browser
  2. Open the history tab and tap Clear browsing data
  3. Select the files you want to remove: Cookies, site data, Cached images and file
  4. Choose from the top menu how far back you want to delete
  5. Hit the clear browsing data button

The easy and time saving alternative is to once again fire up the CleanMyMac System Junk tab and locate your browser caches under User Cache Files:

Clean up all browser data with CleanMyMac 3

tip 5

Remove Language Packs

Most of your apps come with language packs (also known as “localization files”) that enable you to change the language in the app. It’s great to have this option, but let's face it: most people only need one language supported. Maybe two at most. The rest? They’re just wasting space.

To delete language packs manually follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Applications
  • Right-click (or ctrl-click) on an app and select Show Package Contents
  • Click on Contents
  • Click on Resources
  • Delete whatever languages (ending in .Iproj) you don’t need
  • Repeat for other apps

Delete useless localization files

An even faster way to remove language packs is to use CleanMyMac’s System Junk module. After running the scan you can click Review Details and find Language Files. Click on it to see exactly what language packs will be removed. Once you’re happy with the selections, click on the big Clean button to further clear your startup disk.

CleanMyMac 3
CleanMyMac 3
Free Download

5 Bonus tips to free up disk space

Your startup disk should now have a lot more free space, but why stop there? We have some extra tips to clear a startup disk. These bonus tips won’t apply to everyone, but for those who can use them they are a truly a blessing for more space.

tip 6

Remove iOS Backups

Do you own an iPhone or iPad? Have you ever updated those devices using iTunes on your Mac? If the answer is yes, then you most likely have old backups taking up valuable space on your startup disk.

To quickly free up space by removing old iOS backups, do as follows:

  • Navigate to Finder > Go > Go to Folder
  • Type in ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/
  • Delete all but the most recent backup

Clean up iOS old backups

tip 7

Remove iOS Updates

If you’re updating your iPhone or iPad through iTunes on your Mac, you’re downloading updates for your iOS apps. Once the update has taken place, there is no more need for the update file itself and it just sits hidden on your system with its buddies, wasting your startup disk space.

To remove iOS updates follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Finder > Go > Go to Folder
  • For iPad type in ~/Library/iTunes/iPad Software Updates
  • Go ahead and delete any updates you’ve already done
  • Now do the same for iPhone at ~/Library/iTunes/iPhone Software Updates

tip 8

Uninstall Apps

How many apps do you have on your Mac? Let’s be honest: how many of them do you actually use?

Most people have at least a handful of apps that they never launched. You might think: so what? But these apps are wasting space, potentially even wasting other resources like RAM if running on background.

So take a moment and have a look through your applications to see if there are some apps you can let go of and remove them for more space and speed. Dragging them to the Trash will uninstall the app, but it will also leave behind lots of hidden files associated with the app, like app logs and crash reports.

To uninstall apps completely, use CleanMyMac’s Uninstaller module. For a hard disk it is a great startup cleaner and will free up all of the space that apps were taking up on your Mac.

Complete uninstall apps with CleanMyMac 3

tip 9

Delete Duplicate Libraries from the Photos app

If you made the switch to the new Photos app on your Mac, chances are you’ve ended up with an old library that holds a bunch of duplicate pictures that take up space for no reason. It’s hard to understand why Apple chose to stick with this duplication after the upgrade. We can only assume it’s a smart way for them to convince users to buy more iCloud space. Whatever the reason, good news is that now you’ll be able to easily remove the duplicate Photos libraries and clear up space. And this is exactly how to do it:

  • Open Finder and click on Pictures in the left menu
  • If you see two Photos Libraries, simply move the duplicated one to the Trash
  • Note, you may want to backup the folder first, just in case

Get rid of Photo Library duplicates

tip 10

Limit Dropbox Sync

If you are a Dropbox user, you need to be aware of the fact that Dropbox syncs everything onto your Mac by default. Look through your Dropbox folder and ponder whether or not you need all of those files and folders on your machine.

Probably not.

So here is how you can select which files and folders to sync in order to free up space on your startup disk:

  • Open the Dropbox app
  • Click the gear icon and go to Preferences
  • Select the Account tab
  • Click Change Settings
  • Uncheck files and folders you don’t want to be synced to your Mac

Manage Dropbox syncing

No more “Startup disk full” error message

When wondering how to free up space on Mac startup disk, it’s hard to tell where to begin. With these 5 essential tips and 5 bonus tips, you have everything you need to get rid of the “Your startup disk is almost full” message for good.

Certain tricks like deleting cache with CleanMyMac and emptying your trash should become part of your routine. This way, your startup disk will be able to focus entirely on smoothly operating your Mac. So bookmark this page and use these tips regularly to ensure the problem never returns.